KENTUCKY BOARD OF NURSING

PURPOSE

The purpose of mandatory continuing education (CE)/compliance, as cited in the *Kentucky Nursing Laws* (KRS 314), is to require evidence of the nurse's efforts to maintain and update nursing knowledge and skills needed to make competent judgments and decisions in nursing practice, nursing administration, nursing education, and/or nursing research.

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS: All nurses must complete the CE/competency requirement every year to renew their nursing license.

WHEN - The CE/competency earning period is the same as the licensure period, November 1 through October 31 of each year.

ANNUAL RN AND LPN CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

EARNING CONTINUING EDUCATION

Pursuant to Kentucky Administrative Regulation 201 KAR 20:215, validation of CE/competency must include <u>one</u> of the following: (**Options** <u>**CANNOT**</u> be combined to equal fourteen (14) contact hours):

- 1. Proof of earning fourteen (14) approved contact hours. "Completion certificates are required*; OR
- Proof of earning seven (7) approved contact hours, and a nursing employment evaluation satisfactory for continued employment. Completion certificates are required for the seven (7) contact hours and the KBN Continuing Education Nursing Employment Evaluation Form completed and signed by the nurse's supervisor including the employer's name, address, and phone number verifying satisfactory employment covering at least six (6) months of the earning period (November 1 - October 31) This form is available in the document library. OR
- Current national certification or recertification related to the nurse's practice role in effect during the entire period, or initially earned or renewed during the period (does not include clinical certifications such as ACLS, PALS, NRP, etc...); OR
- 4. Successful completion of a post licensure academic course at a college, university, or postsecondary vocational institution. Must be relevant to nursing practice. (e.g. nursing course designated by a nursing course number) or applicable to the nurse's role and beyond the prelicensure curriculum) The course must have been completed during the earning period with grade of "C" or higher, or a grade of "pass" on a pass-fail grading system awarded. Calculation of contact hours: One (1) semester or trimester hour of academic credit = 15 contact hours; One (1) quarter hour of academic credit = 12 contact hours. A transcript is required; OR
- 5. Participation as a preceptor for at least one nursing student or new employee. Must be for at least 120 hours, have a one-to-one relationship with student or employee, during the earning period. The nurse may precept more than one student during the 120 hours. Preceptorship shall be evidenced by submission of a Preceptor Continuing Education Verification Form completed by the educational institution or preceptor's supervisor. This form is available in the document library. OR
- 6. Publication of an article in a peer-reviewed, health related journal. A copy of the article is required; OR
- 7. A nursing continuing education presentation that is designed and developed by the nurse presenter, presented to nurses or other health professionals, is evidenced by a program brochure, course syllabi, or a letter from the offering provider identifying the licensee as the presenter of the offering; and offered by a provider approved pursuant to 201 KAR 20:220. The number of contact hours earned shall be twice the number of contact hours offered to presentation attendees; OR
- 8. Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, coinvestigator, or project director. Must be qualitative or quantitative in nature; utilize research methodology, and increases knowledge resulting in improved outcomes or changes in behavior. Submission must include a project abstract and a summary of the findings.

KENTUCKY BOARD OF NURSING



ANNUAL APRN CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

An APRN's board certification satisfies the fourteen (14) contact hour requirement needed for RN licensure renewal (national certification), as long as the APRN certification was initially attained during the licensure period, has been in effect during the entire licensure period, or has been renewed during the licensure period. If these requirements are met, APRNs do not need to earn 14 contact hours of CE to renew their RN licenses.

Pharmacology CE: All APRNs must complete at least five (5) contact hours of approved pharmacology CE each licensure/earning period. CE Certificates should reflect specific pharmacology contact hours awarded. To qualify as pharmacology, content shall include drug-specific information, safe prescribing practices, safe medication administration, prescribing methodologies, new regulations, or similar topics. Objectives for the contact hours related to pharmacology shall be identified. Casual mention of medications or medical treatments shall not qualify.

APRNs with a CAPA-CS: Pursuant to 201 KAR 20:215(5)(1)(b), of the five (5) approved pharmacology contact hours required for APRN licensure renewal, one and one-half (1.5) of these contact hours must be in the dual subject of pharmacology and either pain management or addiction disorders each licensure period. (Amendments to regulations 201 KAR 20:215 and 201 KAR 20:065 are being reviewed and pending.)

ANNUAL SANE CREDENTIAL CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) credentialed nurses are required to earn five (5) contact hours of approved sexual assault CE **each licensure period** required by 201 KAR 20:411, Section 8. Forensic medicine or domestic violence CE will meet this requirement. These hours may count as part of the required fourteen (14) contact hours of continuing education needed for renewal of the RN license.

MANDATORY ONE-TIME ONLY CONTENT SPECIFIC CE REQUIREMENTS

Domestic Violence CE: Three (3) contact hours of approved CE addressing the dynamics and effects of domestic violence, and elder abuse, neglect and exploitation on adult and child victims as required by KRS 194A.540 and 201 KAR 20:215. Nurses who graduated from a Kentucky nursing program **AFTER MAY 1998** are <u>not</u> required to complete this continuing education activity, as the content was included within the nursing program's curriculum. RNs and LPNs who completed a nursing program outside of Kentucky or have not completed a course in domestic violence must complete this requirement within (3) years of licensure.

Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma (Shaken Baby Syndrome) CE: One and one-half (1.5) contact hours of approved CE as required by KRS 314.073(6) covering the recognition and prevention of pediatric abusive head trauma. Nurses who graduated from a Kentucky nursing program **AFTER DECEMBER 2011** are <u>not</u> required to complete this continuing education activity, as the content was included within the nursing program's curriculum. RNs and LPNs who completed a program of nursing prior to December of 2011 or completed a program of nursing outside of Kentucky must complete this requirement within three (3) years of licensure.

Suicide Prevention CE: Two (2) contact hours of approved CE addressing suicide prevention, which must address chronic toxic stress, secondary traumatic stress potentially increasing the incidence of suicide amongst nurses; a confidential and standardized pathway to care for nurses that addresses screening, assessing, safety planning, referrals, and follow-up for nurses at risk for suicide; systems of care, evidence-informed approaches, and best practices to reduce suicide rates; and ethical legal considerations of caring for patients and nurses who are suicidal. Nurses who completed a Kentucky program of nursing **AFTER AUGUST 2023** are not required to complete this continuing education activity. Nurses who complete d a program of nursing prior to August of 2023 or a program of nursing outside of Kentucky must complete this requirement within three (3) years of initial licensure.

KENTUCKY BOARD OF NURSING



CE PROVIDERS

KBN approved CE providers are issued a provider number and expiration date. A list of KBN-approved CE providers is available at <u>https://kbn.ky.gov/KBN%20Documents/ce.pdf</u>. The KBN also accepts nursing CE courses offered by providers approved by one of the national nursing organizations listed below or any state board of nursing, for the same number of contact hours.

NATIONAL NURSING ORGANIZATIONS RECOGNIZED BY KBN FOR APPROVAL OF CE OFFERINGS:

American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) American Assoc. of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) American Assoc. of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Association of Women's Health, Obstetric, & Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) **Other State Boards of Nursing** National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH) National Assoc. of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) National Assoc. for Practical Nurses Education and Service (NAPNES) National Assoc. of Licensed Practical Nurses (NALPN) National League for Nursing (NLN)

ONLINE -- ENDURING MATERIALS -- HOME SELF STUDY

Regardless of state of residence, nurses may earn all (or any combination of) contact hours from online or selfstudy home course offerings approved or accepted by the KBN.

NOT ACCEPTED AS CE

Prelicensure general education courses, either electives or those designated to meet degree requirements. Activities that are part of an employing agency's staff development program designed to provide information related to the work setting; on-the-job training, orientation, basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (BLS/CPR), or equipment demonstrations.

VERIFYING CE/COMPETENCY – *COMPLETION CERTIFICATES

A certificate of attendance/completion must include the following: name of participant; offering title; date; and format/location; number of contact hours awarded; the approval source (**KBN or other KBN recognized approver**). At the time of license renewal, an applicant is required to certify that they have met or will meet the required CE/competency requirements by October 31st.

A continuing education offering shall <u>not</u> be repeated within a licensure/earning period.

DOCUMENTATION -- RECORDS

Licensees must retain all copies of completion certificate and other documents verifying successful completion of CE/ competency requirements for five (5) years. *Copies of mandatory continuing education requirements (e.g. Domestic Violence and Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma, should be retained for as long as a nurse holds a current/active license in Kentucky.* Licensees do not need to submit documents unless specifically requested to do so.

CE BROKER

CE Broker provides a system for nurses to report and store CE documents. A "Free Basic Account" is available to all licensees at https://cebroker.com/ky/account/basic/. See https://cebroker.com/ky/account/basic/. See https://cebroker.com/ky/account/basic/. See https://kbn.ky.gov/continuing-education/Pages/CE-Broker.aspx for information about CE Broker. The use of CE Broker is not mandatory at this time unless an individual has been selected for the CE-Broker.aspx for information about CE Broker. The use of CE Broker is not mandatory at this time unless an individual has been selected for the CE-Broker.aspx for information about CE Broker. The use of CE Broker is not mandatory at this time unless an individual has been selected for the CE-Broker.aspx for information about CE Broker is https://cebroker.aspx for the cebroker.aspx for the https://cebroker.aspx for t

CE AUDIT -- CE BROKER

Following each licensure renewal period, individuals are randomly selected for the CE audit. Nurses selected for an audit will receive an email with information on how to report and upload copies of CE documents to validate completion of CE requirements through CE Broker. The Board reserves the right to request proof of compliance with CE/competency requirements from licensees at any time. Additional information on the CE Audit and CE Broker is available at https://kbn.ky.gov/continuing-education/Pages/CE-Audit-CE-Broker.aspx.

OFFERINGS COMPLETED THROUGH A CE PROVIDER NOT APPROVED OR RECOGNIZED BY KBN

A nurse may request an individual review for a non-approved continuing education activity that was completed during the earning period. A completed Individual Request for Review of CE Activities Application available at https://kbn.ky.gov/KBN%20Documents/ce-individual Request for Review of CE Activities Application available at https://kbn.ky.gov/KBN%20Documents/ce-individual-application-review.pdf all required documents, and \$10 non-refundable fee must be submitted no later than thirty (30) days after the expiration of the licensure/earning period.